The Bruges Group spearheaded the intellectual battle to win a vote to leave the European Union and, above all, against the emergence of a centralised EU state.

mailing list
donate now
join now

14th Anniversary Meeting

The Rt Hon. David Heathcoat-Amory MP
The Rt Hon. Lord Lamont of Lerwick

The Rt Hon. the Lord Lamont of Lerwick

Norman Lamont is a politician, writer and company director. Lord Lamont was the Conservative Member of Parliament for Kingston-upon-Thames from 1972-97, he served as Chancellor of the Exchequer from 1990-93.

Lord Lamont has also recently been appointed Co-Chairman of the Bruges Group.

Norman Lamont is the author of Sovereign Britain. There he outlines his desire that Britain be ‘a country free and independent, sovereign and wealthy, cut loose from the Utopian dreams of Brussels.’


The Rt Hon. David Heathcoat-Amory, MP

David Heathcoat-Amory is the Member of Parliament for Wells. From April 1992 until May 1993, he was Deputy Chief Whip (Treasurer to the Royal Household). In May 1993, David was appointed Minister of State at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. He was appointed Paymaster General HM Treasury in July 1994. In January 1996 he was made a Privy Counsellor.

In July 1996, at the press launch of the Bruges Group paper A Single European Currency: Why the United Kingdom must say ‘No’, of which he was the author, he resigned from the Government in opposition to John Major’s ‘wait and see’ policy on the euro.

From 1997 to 2000, he served as Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury, and from September 2000 to September 2001 as Shadow Secretary of State for Trade & Industry.

He is currently a delegate to the Convention on the Future of Europe.